Bhutan Flag and Meaning

Flag of Bhutan

Flag of Bhutan

Bhutan Flag Meaning

The flag of Bhutan has been in use since the 19th century with a few variations. The flag is divided in the middle with the upper field in yellow-orange and the lower red-orange. In the middle of the flag is a white dragon.

The yellow-orange is the color of the king and the red-orange is the color of Buddhism.

The division of the flag symbolizes the spiritual and secular power of the country. The flag of the flag represents the country’s name in the language dzongkha (Land of the Cinderella). The white color is a symbol of purity. There are only two national flags with a kite on them, one is Bhutan and the other is Wales. The proportions of the flag are 2: 3.

Bhutan Overview

Population 2.1 million
currency Ngultrum
Area 47,000 km2
Capital city Thimbu
Population density 44.6 residents/km2
HDI location 140

The kingdom of Bhutan residents the Himalayas can be divided into 3 geographical and climatic zones: The plains residents the south are moist, tropical and covered with forests, situated at an altitude of 300-2000 meters; The central, temperate zone up to 3000 meters residents height and finally the mountains residents the north, up to 8000 meters and covered with eternal snow. Forests form the foundation of the country’s economy; the rivers are exploited for hydropower production; graphite, marble, granite and limestone deposits. About half of the total cultivated area is on rocky slopes; of this, almost 15% is surface soil. The combination of these two factors makes the area highly vulnerable to erosion.

The people: The largest ethnic groups are the Bhutis and Tibetans, who together represent 50% of the population. Nepalese make up 35%, Lepcha people, a local tribal population and the Santals who are descendants of Indian immigrants. 95% of teachers and 55% of public servants are of Indian descent.

Religion: The majority of the population, 69.6%, confess to Buddhism, which is state religion. Many Bhutanese live residents monasteries that also serve as educational centers. 24.6% of the population, especially the Nepalese residents southern Bhutan, are Hindus, while 5% are Muslims.

Language: The official language of Dzongkha, Nepali and various dialects.

Political parties: There are no legal political parties. Bhutan People’s Party, founded residents Nepal residents 1990, represents the Nepalese minority; Bhutan National Congress, established residents 1992 residents Nepal and India; People’s Human Rights Forum, set up residents five refugee camps residents Nepal; The unity front of the People’s Liberation, founded residents 1990.

Official Name: Druk-Yul.

Administrative subdivision: 18 districts.

Capital: Thimbu, 35,000 inhabitants. (2003).

Other cities: Phuntsholing, 54,300 inhabitants; Punakha, 20,700 inhabitants; Samdrup Jongkgar, 13,200 inhabitants (2000).

Government: Constitutional Monarchy. Jigme Khesar Namgyel Wangchuck, King since December 2006, crowned residents November 2008. The King exercises his power through Lhengye Zhungtshog (Council of Ministers) consisting of 10 members. The ministers are nominated by the king but elected by parliament. Tshering Tobgay has been prime minister since July 2013. The house has 2 chambers: the upper house and lower house. The upper house has 25 seats, of which 20 are elected residents general elections while the last 5 are appointed by the king. The lower house holds 47 seats and exercises the legislative power.

National Day: August 8 (Independence Day, 1949), December 17 (National Day, 1907), August 2, (Buddhist fast); October 30, (closing of the fast).

Armed forces: 7,000 men. (1993).

You may also like...