Puerto Rico Flag and Meaning

Flag of Puerto Rico

Flag of Puerto Rico

Puerto Rico Flag Meaning

In the design of the Puerto Rican flag, Francisco Gonzalo Marin took great help from the Cuba flag. Instead of Cuba’s blue and white stripes, with a red triangle, Gonzalo Marin changed it to red and white stripes, with a blue triangle.

The white star is a symbol of the nation and the triangle represents the three different parts of the ruling power which are government, parliament and court. Red is a symbol of blood, white is the color of victory and peace, the color blue is a classic symbol of heaven and sea. The flag was adopted in 1894.

Puerto Rico Overview

Population 3.8 million
Currency US $
Area 8,900 km2
Capital city San Juan
Population density 431.3 residents/km2

Puerto Rico is the easternmost and smallest of the major islands in the Caribbean. The Cordillera Central mountain range intersects the island in an east-west direction. In the highlands subsistence farming – maize and cassava is practiced. Coffee is grown on the western slopes of the mountain range. In the central part are smaller tobacco plantations, and on the northern slopes citrus fruits and pineapples are exported to the United States. However, the most important agricultural product is sugarcane grown on the best soils in coastal areas. Also included in Puerto Rico are the small islands of Vieques (43 km2), Mona (40 km2) and Culebra.

The people: The majority of Puerto Ricans are mestizos, descended from Spaniards (80%) and African slaves (20%). About 2 million have emigrated to the United States to escape unemployment and poverty.

Religion: No official religion exists. Catholics (85.3%), Protestants (4.7%), others (10%).

Languages: Spanish and English (official). In governmental relations with the United States, English is used. In 1993 it was accepted to introduce English into teaching, administration and communication, and it was made official language in line with Spanish.

Political parties: Partido Nuevo Progresista (the New Progress Party PNP), led by Pedro Rosselló, wants full inclusion in the United States as the 51st state of the Union. Partido Popular Democrático (People’s Democratic Party, PPD), founded in 1938 by Luis Muñoz Marín, wants the island’s status as a free associated state with the United States preserved. Partido Renovación Portorriqueña (Puerto Rico’s Renewal Party, PRP), peeling off PNP; Partido Independentista Puertorriqueño (Puerto Rico’s Independence Party, PI), founded in 1946 after split in PPD, Social Democratic oriented. Partido Comunista (Communist Party, PC), founded in 1934, very actively until the 1950’s where it was subjected to intense repression, today its influence is very limited. Partido Socialista Puertorriqueño (Puerto Rico Socialist Party, PSP), founded in 1971.

Official Name: Estado Libre Asociado de Puerto Rico.

Capital: San Juan, 2,509,000 in (2009).

Other important cities: Bayamón, 205,400 residents; Carolina, 169,800 residents; Ponce, 156,500 residents (2000).

Government: Ricardo Rosselló, the country’s governor since January 2017. The House has 2 chambers: the House of Representatives with 51 seats and the Senate with 29.

National Day: September 23rd. (Grito de Lares, The Beginning of the Battle of the Spanish Colonial Power in 1868); July 25 (Constitution Day, 1952)

Armed Forces: 5,000 Soldiers of the United States Military (2003).

You may also like...