Category: Panama

The Republic of Panama is a country in Central America, bathed by the Caribbean Sea and the Pacific Ocean. There are 3.7 million residents. The capital is Panama City. Panama was colonized by the Spanish in the early 16th century. In 1821, it broke ties with Spain, as part of the former Republic of Colombia, formed by the present countries of Colombia, Venezuela, Ecuador and Panama, chaired by Simón Bolívar. In 1903, Panama became an independent republic, with the support of the USA, resulting in the agreement for the construction of the Panama Canal, connecting the Atlantic and Pacific oceans, concluded in 1914. The Panama Canal joins the Atlantic and Pacific Oceans. It begins in the city of Colón, on the coast of the Caribbean Sea, and ends in Panama City, on the coast of the Pacific Ocean, which is 64 km long. The Canal Zone crosses three artificial lakes (Gatun, Miraflores and Madden) and includes forest reserves on both banks.

Panama Country Population

Panama Population

Panama is located midway between North and South America. The country is best known for the Panama...

Panama Country Flag

Panama Facts

Panama, State of Central America; 77 100 km², 4.2 million residents (2019).Panama, which is located in the...

Embassies of Panama

Embassies of Panama

List of all Panama embassies and consulates in foreign countries or regions, including the city where it...

Airports in Panama

Panama Airports

As of 2019, there are 39 airports throughout the country of Panama according to IATA and ICAO....