Turks and Caicos Islands Overview

Turks and Caicos Islands (United Kingdom)

The Turks and Caicos Islands are located at the southeastern tip of the Bahamas, covering an area of 430 square kilometers. The population is 24,000, with more than 90% black and the rest white or of mixed heritage. The residents are Christian and English is the official language is English. The currency is the U.S. dollar and the capital is Cockburn Town.

Turks and Caicos Islands Flag

Turks and Caicos Islands Country Flag

History Summary

Arawak Indians originally inhabited by ethnic tribes and Lukayuesi places. In 1512, the islands were discovered by the Spanish, but later became a British colony in 1766. In 1799, they returned to the jurisdiction of the Bahamas, and from 1875 to 1959 came under the jurisdiction of Jamaica. After Jamaican independence in 1962, the islands remained British colony. In 1972 the Queen appointed the first Governor of the Islands.

Economy and Culture Overview

The fishing and salt industries are the main source of income, as well as revenues from tourism and financial services.

Turks and Caicos Islands Map

Turks and Caicos Islands Map

You may also like...