Category: Belize

Belize is a Central American country bathed by the Caribbean Sea. The capital is Belmopan and the largest city is Belize, the former capital. The official language is English, but Spanish and a variety of Creole are also spoken by a large part of the population. There are 364 thousand residents (2015). Until the end of the first millennium of the Christian Era, the lands of present-day Belize were inhabited by the Maya. In the 17th and 18th centuries, the region became a stronghold for English pirates and was incorporated into the British Empire in 1854 as British Honduras. In 1973, the country changed its name to Belize. In 1981, the country gained its independence, but the head of state remains the British monarch.

Belize Population

Belize Population

Belize, located in Central America, has much in common with the island states of the Caribbean. Tourism...

Airports in Belize

Belize Airports

As of 2019, there are 19 airports throughout the country of Belize according to IATA and ICAO....

Belize Country Flag

Belize Facts

Belize, State of Central America; 23,000 km², 383,000 residents (2019).Belize borders in the north to Mexico and...

Embassies of Belize

Embassies of Belize

List of all Belize embassies and consulates in foreign countries or regions, including the city where it...