Category: Costa Rica

The Republic of Costa Rica is a country in Central America, bathed by the Caribbean Sea and the Pacific Ocean. There are 4.9 million residents (2016). The capital is San José. In 1502, Christopher Columbus explored the coastline of present-day Costa Rica, in search of a westward passage. From 1522, the territory was colonized by the Spaniards, until independence, in 1821.