Category: Croatia

Croatia is a country on the Balkan Peninsula, bathed by the Adriatic Sea. There are 4.2 million residents. The capital is Zagreb. The lands that today comprise Croatia were part of the Austro-Hungarian Empire until the end of the First World War. In 1918, Croats, Serbs and Slovenians formed a kingdom, known after 1929, as Yugoslavia. After World War II, Yugoslavia became an independent federal communist state ruled by Marshal Tito. Croatia declared independence in 1991, but it took four years of sporadic fighting before Serbian occupation armies left Croatian territory. Under UN supervision, the last Serbian enclave in eastern Slavonia was returned to Croatia in 1998.

Croatia Country Population

Croatia Population

Croatia was previously a Yugoslav sub-republic, but became independent in 1991. The post-independence war resulted in great...

Airports in Croatia

Croatia Airports

As of 2019, there are 9 airports throughout the country of Croatia according to IATA and ICAO....

Croatia Country Flag

Croatia Facts

Croatia, state of the Balkan Peninsula in southeastern Europe; 56,538 km², 4.1 million residents (2019).Croatia borders in...

Embassies of Croatia

Embassies of Croatia

List of all Croatia embassies and consulates in foreign countries or regions, including the city where it...