Category: Nicaragua

The Republic of Nicaragua is the largest country in Central America by area. It is bathed by the Caribbean Sea and the Pacific Ocean. There are 6 million residents (2016). Since 1857, the capital is Managua, on the shore of Lake Xolotlán. Nicaragua was colonized by the Spanish in the 16th century. Independence from Spain was achieved in 1821, along with Guatemala. The Republic was declared in 1838.

Nicaragua Country Flag

Nicaragua Facts

Nicaragua, State of Central America; 130 700 km², 6.5 million residents (2019).Nicaragua is Central America’s largest country...