Category: El Salvador

The Republic of El Salvador is a country in Central America, bathed by the Pacific Ocean. There are 6.2 million residents (2016). The capital is San Salvador. At the beginning of the 16th century, the current territory of El Salvador was home to the Kingdom of Cuscatlán, which was conquered by the Spanish in 1524. The region was then administered as part of Guatemala. In 1525, the Spanish founded San Salvador. Independence was won from Spain in 1821, forming a federation with other territories in Central America. The Republic of El Salvador was proclaimed in 1856.