Category: Yemen

The Republic of Yemen is an Arab country on the Arabian Peninsula, bathed by the Red Sea and the Gulf of Aden. Its territory includes the archipelago of Socotra. There are 27 million residents (2016). The capital is Saná. This ancient land of Arab civilization housed, in antiquity, the Kingdom of Sheba, referred to in the Bible. It was ruled by Muslim priests in the Middle Ages. From the 16th century, Yemen was dominated by the Turks. At the beginning of that century, the Portuguese conquered the island of Socotra, abandoned a few years later. In 1839, the British dominated the port of Aden. The northern part of Yemen became independent from the Turks in 1918, while the southern part remained under British rule, which withdrew in 1967, resulting in the formation of South Yemen. In 1990, Yemen was unified. Note: Yemen is preferred here. The “Y” is adopted, for the name of that country, in the vast majority of languages ​​that use the Latin alphabet. Some use “J”, rare use “I”. Yemen (without an accent) was the traditional form in the Portuguese language until the reforms of the 1940s, but such reforms did not require changing to “I” in this case. Yemen officially uses the Arabic alphabet.

Yemen Country Population

Yemen Population

Yemen was united into one country in 1990. The country is the poorest in the Middle East,...

Airports in Yemen

Yemen Airports

As of 2019, there are 26 airports throughout the country of Yemen according to IATA and ICAO....

Yemen Country Flag

Yemen Facts

Yemen, state on the southwest tip of the Arabian Peninsula; 531,000 km², 28.5 million residents (2019).Yemen borders...

Embassies of Yemen

Embassies of Yemen

List of all Yemen embassies and consulates in foreign countries or regions, including the city where it...