Category: North Korea

North Korea is a communist country in East Asia. There are 25 million residents (2016). The capital is Pyongyang. The Korean Peninsula was politically unified in the 7th century BC. In the early 20th century, Korea was occupied by Japan. After World War II, Korea was divided into two: South Korea (democratic) and North Korea (communist). In recent years, North Korea has been challenging world peace with its missile launches.