Category: Guinea-Bissau

Guinea-Bissau, formerly Portuguese Guinea, is located on the west coast of Africa, bathed by the Atlantic Ocean. It is bordered by Senegal (to the north) and Guinea (to the south). The main cities are Bissau (capital), Bafatá, Gabú, Cacheu and Bolama. Guinea-Bissau is one of the smallest countries in Africa and one of the eight countries in the world that adopts Portuguese as its official language. The territory is home to a complex ecosystem in its estuaries and forests, where many large animals are found, such as leopards, antelopes, hippos and chimpanzees. In particular, the Bijagós Islands are an ecological sanctuary and a paradise for tourists.