Category: Sudan

The Republic of Sudan is a country in East Africa, bathed by the Red Sea and cut by the River Nile. Most of its territory is in the Saharan region. There are 36.7 million residents (2016). The capital is Khartoum (Khartoum). Centuries before the Christian Era, the region was known as Nubia and its culture was influenced by Egypt. In the Middle Ages, Islam spread throughout the region. In the early 19th century, it was under the influence of the Ottoman Empire, later replaced by British rule. Independence was achieved in 1956. In 2011, the southern part of the country separated as South Sudan.

Sudan Country Flag

Sudan Facts

Sudan, state of northeastern Africa; 1.9 million km², 41.8 million residents (2019).Sudan borders north to Egypt, has...

Embassies of Sudan

Embassies of Sudan

List of all Sudan embassies and consulates in foreign countries or regions, including the city where it...

Airports in Sudan

Sudan Airports

As of 2019, there are 25 airports throughout the country of Sudan according to IATA and ICAO....