Category: South Sudan

The Republic of South Sudan is a country in Central Africa in southern Sudan. It has 12.5 million residents. The capital is Juba. In the 19th century, the current territory of South Sudan was dominated by Muslims, when British forces invaded the region. In 1899, Anglo-Egyptian Sudan was created, involving present-day Sudan and the former Equatorial Province, now South Sudan. In 1956, Anglo-Egyptian Sudan became independent, like the Republic of Sudan. Conflicts continued in the region for the following decades. In 2011, after a prolonged civil war, the southern part of Sudan gained independence like South Sudan.